2024 Moon Phases & Magical Dates

2024 Moon Phases & Magical Dates

Yule: Honoring The Winter Solstice Reading 2024 Moon Phases & Magical Dates 12 minutes Next Your Guide To Aquarius Season

As 2023 comes to a close the wheel of the year spins a new tune. The collective energy is celebratory, optimistic, and hopeful as a new beginning approaches. Before a new year begins, one small ritual I like to do is add all the major moons, astrological seasons, and witchy holidays in my planner for the coming year. I personally believe it's beneficial to have a lunar calendar some place you'll see it everyday. Adding it to your planner, phone, schedule book, calendar, or even your book of shadows, brings it too the forefront of your mind and can help you align your life with the phases of the Moon. 

PLEASE NOTE: If you live in the northern hemisphere, below are all the proper dates of the wheel of the year festivals, while the italicized snippets align with the southern hemispheres. 

The Moon's phase are the same for everyone in the world. People north and south of the equator do see the Moon’s current phase from different angles, though. If you traveled to the other hemisphere, the Moon would be in the same phase as it is at home, but it would appear upside down compared to what you're used to! For example, if the Moon was in a waning crescent phase. Seen from the Northern Hemisphere, the waning crescent appeared on the left side of the Moon. Seen from the Southern Hemisphere, the crescent appeared on the right.

JANUARY 

Named after Janus, the god of doors, gates, and transitions; January is the perfect time for door-opening rituals, setting intentions and new beginnings.

Jan. 3: Last Quarter Moon in Libra (10:32 PM EST/7:32 PM PST)

Jan. 11: New Moon in Capricorn (6:58 AM EST/3:58 AM PST)

Jan. 17: First Quarter Moon in Taurus (10:53 PM EST/7:53 PM PST)

Jan. 20: Aquarius season begins

Jan. 25: Full Moon in Leo - Wolf Moon (12:54 PM EST/9:54 AM PST)

 

FEBRUARY 

Februalia was the ancient spring festival of washing and purification. The land had to be prepared for the planting of seeds in the coming season, so all sorts of cleansing rituals were encouraged.

Feb. 1st-28th: Black History Month

Feb. 1: Imbolc – Celebration of the Goddess Brighid.

(Southern Hemisphere: Lammas or Lughnasadh – The grain harvest at the end of summer.)

Feb. 2: Last Quarter Moon in Scorpio (6:20 PM EST/3:20 PM PST)

Feb. 9: New Moon in Aquarius (6:00 PM EST/3:00 PM PST)

Feb. 14: Valentine’s Day

Feb. 16: First Quarter Moon in Taurus (10:02 AM EST/7:02 AM PST)

Feb. 18: Pisces season begins

Feb. 24: Full Moon in Virgo - Snow Moon (7:31 AM EST/4:31 AM PST)

MARCH

As the spring equinox brings balance to the planet, this month is also a time to bring balance into our lives. Celebrate the spring!

Mar. 3: Last Quarter Moon in Sagittarius (10:25 AM EST/7:25 AM PST)

Mar. 8: International Women's Day

Mar. 10: Daylight Savings Time

Mar. 10: New Moon in Pisces (5:02 AM EST/1:02 AM PST)

Mar. 17: St Patrick’s Day – a time to celebrate the patron saint of Ireland.

Mar. 17: First Quarter Moon in Cancer (12:11 AM EDT/ 3/16 9:11 PM PDT)

Mar. 19: Aries season begins

Mar. 19: Ostara – Spring Equinox and celebration of Goddess Eostre

(Southern Hemisphere: Mabon – The Autumn Equinox)

Mar. 25: Full Moon/Lunar Eclipse in Libra - Worm Moon (3:01 AM EDT / 12:01 AM PDT)

APRIL

Rebirth abounds in April as the Earth is ready to sprout forth new life from the dormant winter. Get outside and feel the crisp air as it begins to take on a new warmth. Enjoy the change of the season by planting seeds either figurative or literal!

Apr. 1 - Apr. 25: Mercury is retrograde in Aries

Apr. 1: Last Quarter Moon in Capricorn (11:15 PM EDT/8:15 PM PDT)

Apr. 8: New Moon/Solar Eclipse in Aries (2:23 PM EDT/11:23 AM PDT)

Apr. 15: First Quarter Moon in Cancer (3:14 PM EDT/12:14 PM PDT)

Apr. 19: Taurus season begins

Apr. 22: Earth Day – Honoring Gaia

Apr. 23: Full Moon in Scorpio - Pink Moon (7:51 PM EDT/4:51 PM PDT)

Apr. 28 – May 3: Floralia – Honors the goddess of spring flowers & vegetation. See Persephone

Apr. 30: May Eve or Rhiannon’s Day

MAY

This month is an excellent time to expand your horizons. If you have been wanting to try something new, now is the time to jump in full force.

May 1Beltane – Celebration of fire and fertility

(Southern Hemisphere: Samhain – the Witches’ New Year)

May 1: Last Quarter Moon in Aquarius (7:27 AM EDT/4:27 AM PDT)

May 7: New Moon in Taurus (11:24 PM EDT/8:24 PM PDT)

May 15: First Quarter Moon in Leo (7:49 AM EDT/4:49 AM PDT)

May 20: Gemini season begins

May 23: Full Moon in Sagittarius - Flower Moon (9:55 AM EDT/6:55 AM PDT)

May 30: Last Quarter Moon in Pisces (1:13 PM EDT/10:13 AM PDT)

JUNE

The light has returned, and summer is officially here. Use this month to soak up the rays of light from the sun. Honor the solar deities as its heat and light shine down upon you. Allow the nourishing rays to enhance a project or idea that you have been growing since spring.

June 1st- June 30th: LGBTQ Pride month.

Jun. 6: New Moon in Gemini (8:40 AM EDT/5:40 AM PDT)

Jun. 7-15: Roman Festival of Vestalia – honors the priestesses of Vesta, goddess of the hearth.

Jun. 14: First Quarter Moon in Virgo (1:19 AM EDT/ 6/13 10:19 PM PDT)

Jun. 16: Father's Day

Jun. 19: Juneteenth

Jun. 20Cancer season begins

Jun. 20Litha – The Summer Solstice Learn More Here

(Southern Hemisphere: Yule – The Winter Solstice)

Jun. 21: Full Moon in Sagittarius - Strawberry Moon (9:10 PM EDT/6:10 PM PDT)

Jun. 28: Last Quarter Moon in Aries (5:55 PM EDT/2:55 PM PDT)

JULY

During the peak of the sun, it is a great time to get into the water. Let the cool refreshing water wash away any old baggage that is hanging around. Welcome the revitalization of water by bringing in the beauty of all the colorful flowers around you.

Jul. 5: New Moon in Cancer (6:59 PM EDT/3:59 PM PDT)

Jul. 13: First Quarter Moon in Libra (6:49 PM EDT/3:49 PM PDT)

Jul. 21:Full Moon in Aquarius - Buck Moon (6:19 AM EDT/3:19 AM PDT)

Jul. 22: Leo season begins

Jul. 27: Last Quarter Moon in Taurus (10:54 PM EDT/7:54 PM PDT)

AUGUST

The harvest time is a time to reap the benefits of what has been sown. This month collect what you have grown either spiritually, physically, emotionally, or creatively. Don’t forget to save some of the bounties up for the coming cold of winter.

August 1Lammas or Lughnasdah – The grain harvest

(Southern Hemisphere: Imbolc – honoring the goddess Brighid and return of the light after the long winter)

Aug. 4: New Moon in Leo (7:14 AM EDT/4:14 AM PDT)

Aug. 5 - Aug. 28: Mercury is retrograde in Virgo & Leo

Aug. 8: Lions Gate Portal

Aug. 12: First Quarter Moon in Scorpio (11:19 AM EDT/8:19 AM PDT)

Aug. 13: Roman Festival of Pomona, goddess of apples and orchards

Aug. 19: Full Moon in Aquarius- Sturgeon Moon (2:28 PM EDT/11:28 AM PDT)

Aug. 22: Virgo season begins

Aug. 26: Last Quarter Moon in Gemini (5:28 AM EDT/2:28 AM PDT)

SEPTEMBER

As the leaves shift their colors to store food for the coming winter, we too must store our own energy for the darkness ahead. Take time to enjoy the changing of the season by spending time in nature

Sep. 2: New Moon in Virgo (9:56 PM EDT/6:56 PM EDT)

Sep. 11: First Quarter Moon in Sagittarius (2:06 AM EDT/ 9/10 11:06 PM PDT)

Sep. 17: Full Moon Lunar Eclipse in Pisces - Corn/Harvest Moon (10:36 PM EDT/7:36 PM PDT)

Sep. 21: International Day of Peace

Sep. 22: Libra season begins

Sep. 22Mabon – Autumn Equinox

(Southern Hemisphere: Ostara – the Spring Equinox)

Sep. 24: Last Quarter Moon in Cancer (2:52 PM EDT/11:52 AM PDT)

OCTOBER

The light is fading, and the dark is setting in. This month is a great time to reflect on your own roots and where you came from. Take time to honor your ancestor as the veil between the worlds thins. Be open to receiving psychic messages, meditation and journaling.

Oct. 2: New Moon Solar Eclipse in Libra (2:50 PM EDT/11:50 AM PDT)

Oct. 3: Roman Festival of Bacchus – God of vegetation and wine

Oct. 10: First Quarter Moon in Capricorn (2:56 PM EDT/11:56 AM PDT)

Oct. 17: Full Moon in Aries - Hunter's Moon (7:27 AM EDT/4:27 AM PDT)

Oct. 22: Scorpio season begins

Oct. 24: Last Quarter Moon in Leo (4:05 AM EDT/1:05 AM PDT)

Oct. 31Samhain – The Witches’ New Year

(Southern Hemisphere: Beltane – a feast of fire and fertility)

NOVEMBER

The end of the harvest brings with it the cold of winter. As the chill sets in the air, begin to strengthen your relationship with the divine during the coming darkness. Reach out to friends and family and reconnect. Focus on gratitude and let go of the things in your life that no longer serve you.

Nov. 1: New Moon in Scorpio (8:48 AM EDT/5:48 AM PDT)

Nov. 3: Daylight savings time ends

Nov. 9: First Quarter Moon in Aquarius (12:56 AM EST/ 11/8 9:56 PM PST)

Nov. 11: 11/11 Portal: Learn More Here

Nov. 15: Full Moon in Taurus- Beaver Moon (4:29 PM EST/1:29 PM PST)

Nov. 16: Hecate’s Night

Nov. 21: Sagittarius season begins

Nov. 22: Last Quarter Moon in Leo (8:29 PM EST/5:29 PM PST)

Nov. 25 - Dec. 15: Mercury is retrograde in Sagittarius

DECEMBER

The perfect month for gathering with friends and family to feel their warmth during the cold of winter. Take this month to spend time reflecting on the previous year. But don’t forget to look ahead as the new year can be full of changes. Focus your energy on the upcoming spring and how you want to prepare for the start of new projects or adventures.

Dec. 1: New Moon in Sagittarius (1:22 AM EST/ 11/30 10:22 PM PST)

Dec. 8: First Quarter Moon in Pisces (10:27 AM EST/7:27 AM PST)

Dec. 15: Full Moon in Gemini - Cold Moon (4:02 AM EST/1:02 AM PST)

Dec. 17: Saturnalia, a Roman celebration of the god Saturn, begins

Dec. 21: Capricorn season begins

Dec 21Yule – the Winter Solstice

(Southern Hemisphere: Litha – The Summer Solstice)

Dec. 22: Last Quarter Moon in Virgo (5:19 PM EST/2:19 PM PST)

Dec. 30: New Moon in Capricorn (5:27 PM EST/2:27 PM PST)

 

New Years Eve Ritual

Write yourself a letter to open at the end of 2024

New Years Eve is the perfect time to manifest your goals and wishes for the coming year. Collectively, it is a time of celebration and optimism as everyone around the world welcomes the new year. Everyone's energies are amplifying each others making it a powerful time to set intentions. To harness this energy for your advantage one thing you can do is write yourself filled with all your goals for 2024.

1. On the Eve of the 31st gather a piece of paper and pen and start writing as if you're your future self a year from now looking back on the year. Include everything you want to happen this year. Be very specific, detailed, do not play small, and make it long! Write it in the affirmative. For example: DO write: "I am happy to not feel anxious anymore" instead of "I do not want to feel anxious"

Writing prompts:

-write about how you've changed as a person

-write about what you're grateful for

-write about skills or hobbies you want to learn

-write about a habit you want to create or eliminate

-write about your boundaries

-write about new routines you wish to implement

-write about something you're most proud of that will happen in 2024

-write about your top 10 bucket list items for 2024

-write about what it feels like to have achieved your goals

2. When you're done with your letter fold it towards you and seal it in an envelope if you have one.

3. Add crystals and jewelry on top of your letter so they can pick up those intentions. The idea behind this is you're carrying your intentions with you when wearing the jewelry or holding the crystals.

4. You can also light a candle on midnight and place your letter under it.

5. Put the letter somewhere you will remember it and see it every once in a while but not every day.

6. Set a reminder on your phone for December 31st, 2024 when you can open the letter and read it.

 

Wishing you a prosperous and abundant new year! May your magic always work in your favor.

-Kendra

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.